13 Ways of Looking at the Goldberg

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) on engraving from 1857. German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist and violinist. Engraved by C.Cook and published in Imperial Dictionary of Universal Biography,Great Britain,1857.

Inna Faliks was the first pianist to premiere this exciting cycle 13 Ways of Looking at the Goldberg, variations on Bach’s Aria in its entirety in New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles. It was commissioned by the Irving S. Gilmore International Keyboard Festival for her teacher Gilbert Kalish. The variations are an adventure on Bach’s eternal theme.

Aria • Bach
Rube Goldberg Variation • C. Curtis Smith
Gilmore Variation • Jennifer Higdon
Short Variation • Inna Faliks
Ghost Variation • Mischa Zupko
Fantasy Variation • Stanley Walden
Variation Fugato • Bright Sheng
Variacion • Tania Leon
Kontraphunktus • Derek Bermel
Variation 13 • Bach
My Goldberg • David Del Tredici
Chasing Goldberg • Fred Lerdahl
Yet Another Goldberg Variation • William Bolcom
Goldmore Variation • Lukas Foss
Variation Of Variation With Variation • Ralph Gothon
Melancholy Minuet • Fred Hersch
Aria (Reprise) • Bach

  1. La Campanella, Paganini - Liszt Inna Faliks 4:53
  2. Rzewski "The People United Shall Never Be Defeated" (excerpt, improvised cadenza) Inna Faliks 8:36
  3. Beethoven Eroica Variations Inna Faliks 9:59
  4. Gershwin: Prelude 3 in E-flat Minor Inna Faliks 1:25
  5. Mozart Piano Concerto #20 - II Inna Faliks with Chamber Orchestra of St. Matthews 10:27
  6. Gaspard de la Nuit (1908) : Scarbo - Ravel Inna Faliks 9:07
  7. Sirota by Lev 'Ljova' Zhurbin Inna Faliks 7:45