A Journey Towards Light

Through the shimmering sounds of Julia Adolphe, Beethoven’s impassioned fugues and transcendent trills, lamentful Fanny Mendelssohn, and virtuosic Shchedrin, Faliks explores a journey from a place of lament and pain to light and transcendence. Along the way, Faliks performs “The Mysterious Stranger” – a piece she composed as a young composer in Odesa, Ukraine. She carried the manuscript through immigration from Ukraine, and is revising this and a group of other pieces to create “Ukrainian Children’s Suite.”

The program:

Basso Ostinato by Rodion Shchedrin (b.1958)

Bagatelle “Mysterious Stranger” by Inna Faliks (composed in Odesa, Ukraine in 1988)

Bagatelles opus126, numbers 1,3, and 4 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Notturno by Fanny Mendelssohn (1805-1847)

Manuscripts Don’t Burn, for speaking pianist by Maya Miro Johnson (b.2001) (composed for Inna Faliks in 2022)

Three Magnetic Etudes by Julia Adolphe (b.1988)

Sonata in G Minor by Clara Schumann(1819-1896) Adagio

Sonata opus 111 in c minor by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Maestoso;allegro con brio ed appassionato
Adagio molto semplice e cantabile

  1. La Campanella, Paganini - Liszt Inna Faliks 4:53
  2. Rzewski "The People United Shall Never Be Defeated" (excerpt, improvised cadenza) Inna Faliks 8:36
  3. Beethoven Eroica Variations Inna Faliks 9:59
  4. Gershwin: Prelude 3 in E-flat Minor Inna Faliks 1:25
  5. Mozart Piano Concerto #20 - II Inna Faliks with Chamber Orchestra of St. Matthews 10:27
  6. Gaspard de la Nuit (1908) : Scarbo - Ravel Inna Faliks 9:07
  7. Sirota by Lev 'Ljova' Zhurbin Inna Faliks 7:45