Antonio Lysy and Inna Faliks, Rachmaninoff Sonata for Cello and Piano

UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music – Professor Inna Faliks (Piano Performance and Keyboard Area Head) and Professor Antonio Lysy (Cello Performance and Strings Area Head) perform the second part of their “Romantic Sonatas” series. The first part of Romantic Sonatas debuted on February 14, 2021, with a performance of Chopin’s Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 6. This second part features Rachmaninoff’s Sonata in G minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 19. Written in the same period as Rachmaninoff’s iconic second piano concerto, the Sonata in G minor for Cello and Piano is quintessentially romantic in the Russian tradition.


Rachmaninoff’s Sonata in G minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 19
I. Lento. Allegro moderato
II. Allegro scherzando
III. Andante
IV. Allegro mosso

This event is made possible by the David and Irmgard Dobrow Fund. Classical music was a passion of the Dobrows, who established a generous endowment at The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music to make programs like this possible. We are proud to celebrate this program as part of the 2020 – 21 Dobrow Series

  1. La Campanella, Paganini - Liszt Inna Faliks 4:53
  2. Rzewski "The People United Shall Never Be Defeated" (excerpt, improvised cadenza) Inna Faliks 8:36
  3. Beethoven Eroica Variations Inna Faliks 9:59
  4. Gershwin: Prelude 3 in E-flat Minor Inna Faliks 1:25
  5. Mozart Piano Concerto #20 - II Inna Faliks with Chamber Orchestra of St. Matthews 10:27
  6. Gaspard de la Nuit (1908) : Scarbo - Ravel Inna Faliks 9:07
  7. Sirota by Lev 'Ljova' Zhurbin Inna Faliks 7:45